Know That Matters


ISLAM is a Religion or Deen

Spread the love

Is ISLAM a Religion or Deen?

ISLAM is considered a religion belonging to a community known as Muslims.

However, as per the Holy Book “Quran” of Muslims, it is NEVER called a Religion but DEEN.

Now the deepest point is to recognize the term “DEEN” used in the Quran seventy-one times to acknowledge the importance of this specific word.

At whatever point this word has come, it has been highlighted in the meaning of “SYSTEM” which means that ISLAM is not only a religion but a complete SYSTEM.

ISLAM is a complete code of life, which covers all aspects of a human man’s life. Whatever circumstances a man faces, it has a solution for all.

Today is an age of fears and frustrations. Everyone is suffering from some problems and worries. ISLAM claims the solution to every single problem in its SYSTEM. ISLAM not only explains the religious obligations and matters only, but it also covers all the aspects of the universe.

MAKKAH is known as a center of ISLAM where the beloved Holy Prophet(Peace be upon Him) of ISLAM was born. Moreover, the House of ALLAH known as Baitullah is there where Muslims go to perform HAJJ at least once in a life, those who can afford.

Followers of ISLAM are known as Muslims. Islam emphasizes Muslims to obey the orders of ALLAH to be a true believer. All the orders have been passed to Muslims through the Holy book AL-QURAN and the sayings of beloved Prophet Mohammad (peace be upon him). The main religious duties of the Muslims are known as the pillars of Islam which are obligatory on every Muslim as per the Islamic orders.

Islam is one of the biggest religions in the world. There are an estimated 1.8 billion Muslims worldwide. The religion has five key pillars which are essential to followers of Islam. These are Declaration(Shahada), Prayer, Almsgiving, Fasting, and Pilgrimage. This article will explore each of these pillars in more detail.

To achieve the true essence of Islam, acquiring Knowledge is a key factor. Islam stressed on seeking knowledge more than anything else. Prophet of Islam Mohammad (peace be upon him) highlighted the importance of knowledge several times. Without knowledge, right and wrong path can never be differentiated.


There are five pillars of ISLAM which are as follows:

SHAHADA (Witness and Faith in the oneness of ALLAH and accept MUHAMMAD as a last Messenger of ALLAH):

Muslims believe in One God who is the Creator and Sustainer of the Universe. He is Just and Merciful and should be worshipped alone.

SALAH (Prayer):

Muslims pray five times a day facing Mecca. Prayer is a chance to commune with God and reflect on His blessings.

ZAKAT (Alms):

Zakat is a charitable giving that helps those in need and purifies one’s wealth. It is obligatory for all Muslims who have the means to do so.

SAWM (Fasting):

Fasting during the holy month of Ramadan is obligatory for Muslims. Muslims fast from dawn to dusk during the month of Ramadan, abstaining from food, drink, and other worldly pleasures. This is a time of spiritual reflection and self-control.

HAJJ (Pilgrimage):

The Hajj is a once-in-a-lifetime obligation for those who are able to make the journey. It is a journey to the holiest city in Islam, where pilgrims perform various rites and prayers

The five pillars of Islam are the foundation of Muslim life. They are faith, prayer, charity, fasting, and pilgrimage. Muslims strive to live by these pillars every day. They are a reminder of the basic beliefs of Islam and the importance of living a good life.

1 thought on “ISLAM is a Religion or Deen”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *